Proposal: White Paper Working Group

There was some discussion on the discord about how, despite there being several posts and pieces of information about the purpose of Phonon, and uses of Phonon, there has never been a formal white paper written up to support and explain the project.

In talking about getting a white paper written, I offered to help bring several people together in order to get this task accomplished, including Reddest Rooster, Mickey, Andrew Byrley, and myself.

Edit*: Reddest Rooster has elected to drop out of this endeavor, due to his desire to write a paper that doesnā€™t align with the traditional definition of a white paper.

My own experience is more in academic writing. I have a Masterā€™s, so Iā€™ve got years of writing academic papers behind me. And the traditional white paper layout is very similar to an academic research paper.

Frankly, Iā€™ve been reading other white papers to get a sense of their outline and flow. Iā€™ll use that to write up an outline for ours, including what kind of information we need for each section, and maybe the type of sources as well for some of them.

I think I would be best suited to aid in writing the history and problem-solving sections (as in, what problems does Phonon solve) section myself since those arenā€™t as technical as how Phonon accomplishes those things.

Having a dev and the other experienced members of the team will help with getting the technical portions completed. Though it also helps that a lot of the information we need is on GitHub and other places like the Pheverdreams. Rooster offered to help gather and collate a lot of that information for the group so we can have our sources ready.

And then once we have drafts of everything it comes down to editing for flow, working out the segues from one section to the next, and how the whole paper flows together to a conclusion.

Required info:

Discord Handle: Hawkins #8443